Five Liverpool players have been included in Uefa’s Team of the Year for 2019, though captain Jordan Henderson and forwards Mohamed Salah and Roberto Firmino miss out.

Liverpool triumphed in the Champions League after beating Tottenham 2-0 in last year’s final, with Jurgen Klopp’s Reds going on to win both the Uefa Super Cup and Fifa Club World Cup to cap a superb 2019.

Four key members of Klopp’s defence make the cut in a fan poll conducted by Uefa, with goalkeeper Alisson Becker, right-back Trent Alexander-Arnold, centre-back Virgil van Dijk and left-back Andy Robertson all included.

Those four Anfield stars are joined by Sadio Mane, though the rest of Liverpool’s fearsome front three – Salah and Firmino – have been edged out.

(AFP via Getty Images)

Barcelona talisman Lionel Messi earned his place with 12 Champions League goals last term, while Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski netted eight and already has another 10 by the group stages this season.

Cristiano Ronaldo is also included in attack, while Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne and Barca’s Frenkie de Jong (who reached the 2018/19 semi-finals with Ajax) make up the midfield pairing.


Uefa Team of the Year 2019: Alisson Becker; Trent Alexander-Arnold, Matthijs de Ligt, Virgil van Dijk, Andy Robertson; Frenkie de Jong, Kevin de Bruyne; Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, Cristiano Ronaldo, Sadio Mane. The home for trending sports news.