Eden Hazard, who has 14 goal and five assists in the top flight this term, is joined in the six-man shortlist by energetic midfield teammate N’Golo Kante .

The France international has impressed in his first season at Stamford Bridge, proving to be a key player in the engine room after also playing a pivotal role in Leicester City’s march to the 2015-16 title.

Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez and Manchester United striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic are also among the nominees, while Harry Kane and Romelu Lukaku could pull off a rare double as they are also in the frame for the Young Player of the Year accolade.

Lukaku leads the way in the Premier League scoring charts , finding the net 23 times for Everton this campaign, while Tottenham Hotspur ace Kane is four goals further back following a couple of spells on the sidelines.

Kane and Lukaku are up against Dele Alli – 16 goals and five assists in 2016-17 – Jordan Pickford of Sunderland , Burnley’s Michael Keane and Manchester City winger Leroy Sane in the young player category.

The 44th PFA Awards ceremony will be held at Grosvenor House in London on April 23.