Barcelona allowed to keep Copa del Rey trophy following third consecutive success

There are only two stipulations which make a team eligible to keep the trophy and those are winning it five times or winning it three times in a row.


Goals from Lionel Messi, Neymar and Paco Alcacer downed Deportivo Alaves and helped ensure another piece of silverware will be added to the club’s famous trophy cabinet.


Following their triumphs over Athletic Club and Sevilla in 2015 and 2016 respectively, the Blaugrana secured a third consecutive success in the domestic cup on Saturday.

Their 29th triumph now places the Catalan giants way ahead of both Athletic and Real Madrid who only hold 23 and 19 titles respectively.

Barcelona haven’t won three straight Copa del Rey tournaments since the 1950s and Enrique’s achievement is likely to stand the test of time.

You might also like More from author