.Despite becoming the world’s most expensive player when he moved from Barcelona to Paris Saint-Germain and thriving in Ligue 1, Neymar did not make the cut for the second time in succession.

Instead, Eden Hazard of Chelsea is the third member of an attacking trident in a team dominated by Real Madrid stars after Zinedine Zidane’s men retained the Champions League and beat Barca to winning LaLiga last year.

Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Toni Kroos and Luka Modric join Ronaldo in the team, while Messi is the only Barcelona player to feature.

Although Neymar did not receive enough votes to make the team, his Brazil and PSG team-mate Dani Alves is in, with veteran Italian goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon – included for the fifth time – joined by his Juventus colleague Giorgio Chiellini.

Hazard is one of just two Premier League representatives included – both of whom are in the team for the first time -with Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne earning a place for his dazzling form.

The total number of 8,779,639 votes for the 2017 UEFA Fans’ Team of the Year is a record, with 798,149 unique users taking part.

UEFA’s Team of 2017
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus): Selected in 41.8% of teams

Dani Alves (PSG): 42.7%

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid): 73.7%

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus): 37.1%

Marcelo (Real Madrid): 70%

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City): 52.2%

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid): 43.3%

Luka Modric (Real Madrid): 48.5%

Eden Hazard (Chelsea): 38%

Lionel Messi (Barcelona): 59.8%

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid): 55.7%

It is the ninth time in 10 years that Messi has been included in the XI, while Ronaldo makes it in for the 11th year in a row, and 12th time of his career.