Sebastian Vettel had taken the lead after an early pit stop and stayed clear of Lewis Hamilton through the final stages when the Englishman launched a desperate bid to claw back the Ferrari.

Although Hamilton was twice let through by Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas, the Briton was penalised five seconds to pay for unnecessarily holding up Daniel Ricciardo at the first round of pit-stops when he was ‘stacked’ behind Bottas.

Serving it at his second and final pit stop, Hamilton rejoined in third place and Bottas was ordered to let his teammate by so he could chase Vettel, but 12 seconds in nine laps was too big a task and he had to make do with second place.

Pole-sitter Bottas finished in third position, with Kimi Raikkonen crossing the line in fourth, and Ricciardo took his Red Bull home in fourth.

However, Ricciardo’s teammate Max Verstappen crashed out due to brake failure, having briefly threatened to join the fight for the front.

1. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

2. Lewis Hamilton,(Mercedes)

3. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)

4. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)

5. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)

6. Felipe Massa (Williams)

7. Sergio Perez (Force India)

8. Romain Grosjean (Haas)

9. Nico Hulkenberg (Renault)

10. Esteban Ocon (Force India)

11. Pascal Wehrlein (Sauber)

12. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)

13. Jolyon Palmer (Renault)

DNF. Fernando Alonso (McLaren)

DNF. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)

DNF. Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)

DNF. Lance Stroll (Williams)

DNF. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

DNF. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

DNF. Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren)