India will be out for redemption in the white-ball contests after losing the Test series 2-1, although the battling nature of their victory in the third and final game suggests Kohli’s side are up for the challenge.

After six ODIs, the Proteas will host India in three T20s, starting at Johannesburg – the scene of India’s Test win – on February 18 before fixtures in Centurion and Cape Town.

In all, there are six players in the India squad who did not play T20s against Sri Lanka, with Raina earning a recall for the first time in a year.

The left-hander last played for India in the T20 series against England, scoring 63 in the series-clincher which saw Eoin Morgan’s men suffer an incredible collapse of 8-8.

India squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur.