According to the agreement, Mercedes may choose to be one of the maximum of 12 entries to be proposed by the championship promoter to the FIA to enter from the 2018-19 season.

Mercedes have been the dominant force in Formula One in recent years, winning the constructors’ championship in 2014 and 2015, with Lewis Hamilton also taking the drivers’ crown in both seasons.

Formula E had its inaugural season in 2014-15 and features only electric-powered cars.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.